Roles & Responsibilities

The functions of the Censorship Board and its secretariat, the Office of Censorship, were established under Section 4 and 13 of the Classification of Publication (Censorship) Act respectively. The functions and powers of both the Board and the Office are contained with the same Act. The Censorship Board is a policy or decision making body headed by a Chairman and a Deputy Chairperson. It consists of twelve (12) members, nominated from a cross section of community and appointed for three years. The Board consists of representatives from the following stakeholder organizations:

  1. Police
  2. Education
  3. National Cultural Commission
  4. National Council of Women
  5. Justice Department
  6. Mass Media
  7. PNG Council of Churches
  8. National Youth Commission
  9. Representatives of Women
  10. Censorship Office